Your voice for bicycling in Maryland Newsletter Donate Become A Member Join
CiviCRMGet InvolvedAdvocacyResourcesEventsNewsAbout menu search
Blog >

2014 Bike Maryland Bicycle Symposium

By - February 19, 2014

Bike Maryland presented the 17th Annual Bicycle Symposium on February 11, 2014. This was the public’s chance to learn from leaders in the bicycling field, bicycling advocates, planners, community leaders and legislative officials on current topics with the goal of increasing bicycle safety, connectivity and accessibility at a free premier event that included breakfast and lunch.

The Agenda

    1. “How to Develop a Local Bicycling Advocacy Organization”  by Katie Lupo, Bike Friendly Coordinator at Bike Maryland (video) (slides)
    2. “Key Components of a Successful Advocacy Group” by Jack Guarneri, President of Howard County Bicycle Advocates (video) (slides)
    3. “How We Leverage our Collective Strength” by Jon Korin, President of Bike AAA (video) (slides)
    4. “Building a Bicycling Advocacy Group” by Matt Drew, Founder of Bike SBY (video) (slides)
    5. “Symposium Welcoming Remarks” by Carol Silldorff, Executive Director of Bike Maryland (video) (slides)
    6. “Keynote Presentation” by Frederick’s Honorable Mayor McClement (video) (slides)
    7. “Bikeshare: Implementation, Successes and Challenges” (video)
      •  Anne Root, Bikeshare Program Manager, Montgomery County Department of Transportation (slides)
      • Barry Robinson, Chief of the Transit and Marine Services Division, Baltimore City Department of Transportation (slides)
      • Tim Davis, Transportation Planning, City of Frederick (slides)
    8. “State Pro-bicycle Legislative Agenda” by Michael Sonnenfeld, Bike Maryland Treasurer (video) (slides)
    9. “State Bicycle Master Plan” by Kate Sylvester, Planner at Maryland Department of Transportation (video) (slides)
    10. “Complete Streets” presentation and panel discussion
      •  Casey Anderson, Montgomery County Planning Board Member (video)
      •  Jennifer Toole, President of Toole Design Group using Laura Searfross’s presentation (video) (slides)
      •  Jason Ridgeway, Director of Highway Development at Maryland State Highway Association (video) (slides)
    11. “Safe Routes To School” (video)
      • James Elliott of Virginia’s Safe Routes to School Program (slides)
      • Jessica Silwick, Transportation Alternatives Manager at State Highway Administration (slides)
      • Lucy Neher, Coordinator of Safe Routes to School in Takoma Park

Our most sincere gratitude to volunteers John Wetmore , Producer of “Perils For Pedestrians” Television and Jim Buckley of Buckley Creative Works for creating the 2014 Symposium videos!!